Roundtable Overview and Materials

The Child Welfare Policy Roundtable highlights the major child welfare and foster care issues facing California, visions for systemic reform, and policy opportunities to improve the lives of our state’s most vulnerable children and youth. Co-hosted by Children Now and the Assembly Foster Care Select Committee, this monthly meeting features a panel of policymakers, practitioners, advocates and former foster youth and provides an informal opportunity to learn and ask questions about California’s child welfare system. Legislative staff, advocates, stakeholders, and the public are invited to join the conversation. For meeting information, contact Sara Fung at 916-379-5256 ext. 129 or sfung@childrennow.org.

April 2019: Meeting the Needs of Transition-Age Youth

Download the Meeting Agenda

 

VOICES: Comprehensive Supports and Services Center for Transition-Age Youth
Andres Cantera, Napa ILP Case Manager, andres@voicesyouthcenter.org
Amber Twitchell, Director, amber@onthemovebayarea.org
VOICES, www.voicesyouthcenter.org


Transitional Housing Programs
Jessica Durkee, Director, jdurkee@sidebysideyouth.org
Real Alternatives, www.sidebysideyouth.org/programs/real-alternatives/


TAY Units
Stephanie Sandmeier, Human Services-Program Planner-Extended Foster Care and ILP Programs, sandms@saccounty.net
Sacramento County Child Protective Services, http://www.dcfas.saccounty.net/CPS/Pages/Independent-Living-Program/SP-ILP-Extended-Foster-Care.aspx

  • No handouts were provided


Extended Foster Care Reform
Angie Schwartz, Policy Director, a.schwartz@kids-alliance.org
Alliance for Children’s Rights, www.kids-alliance.org

  • No handouts were provided


Transitional Housing Program-Plus (THP-Plus) Reform
Kathy Van Osten, Advocate, kvanosten@mvmstrategy.com
John Burton Advocates for Youth, www.jbaforyouth.org

  • No handouts were provided


What Happens When the System Fails?
Kim Lewis, Advocate, klewis@hrdowden.com
California Coalition for Youth, www.calyouth.org

Past Meeting Materials

Download the Meeting Agenda

 

Caregiver Recommendations
Jenn Rexroad, Executive Director, jrexroad@cacaregivers.org
California Alliance of Caregivers, www.cacaregivers.org

Resources for Caregivers at the Time of Placement
Kristin Power, Senior Policy Associate, k.power@kids-alliance.org
Alliance for Children’s Rights, www.kids-alliance.org

Emergency Child Care Bridge for Children in Foster Care
Susanna Kniffen, Senior Director of Child Welfare Policy, skniffen@childrennow.org
Children Now, www.childrennow.org

Foster Parent Recruitment, Retention and Support (FPRRS) and the Family Urgent Response System (FURS)
Diana Boyer, Director of Policy for Child Welfare, dboyer@cwda.org
County Welfare Directors Association, www.cwda.org

Quality Parenting Initiative (QPI)
Lucy Salcido Carter, Policy Advocate, lcarter@ylc.org
Youth Law Center, www.ylc.org

Alliance for Children’s Rights, www.kids-alliance.org
Kristin Power, Senior Policy Associate, k.power@kids-alliance.org

California Youth Connection, www.calyouthconn.org
Christina Parker, Policy Coordinator, christina@calyouthconn.org
Jordan Sosa, Policy Coordinator, jordan@calyouthconn.org

Children Now, www.childrennow.org
Susanna Kniffen, Senior Director of Child Welfare Policy, skniffen@childrennow.org

Children’s Law Center, www.clccal.org
Julie McCormick, Policy Associate, mccormickj@clcla.org

County Welfare Directors Assocation, www.cwda.org
Diana Boyer, Director of Policy for Child Welfare, dboyer@cwda.org

John Burton Advocates for Youth, www.jbaforyouth.org
Debbie Raucher, Project Director, debbie@jbay.org

National Center for Youth Law, www.youthlaw.org
Anna Johnson, Senior Policy Associate, ajohnson@youthlaw.org

Youth Law Center, www.ylc.org
Lucy Salcido Carter, Policy Advocate, lcarter@ylc.org

The State’s Responsibility for Children in Foster Care
Greg Rose, Children and Family Services Division, greg.rose@cdss.ca.gov
California Department of Social Services, www.cdss.ca.gov

County Child Welfare Systems
Loc Nguyen, Child Welfare Policy Consultant, lnguyen@cwda.org
County Welfare Directors Association, www.cwda.org

What Does the Data Tell Us?
Daniel Webster, Senior Research Specialist, dwebster@berkeley.edu
California Child Welfare Indicators Project, http://cssr.berkeley.edu/ucb_childwelfare/

Youth Perspective
Christina Parker, Policy Coordinator, christina@calyouthconn.org
Anthony Vizcarrondo, Member
California Youth Connection, www.calyouthconn.org

Lightening Round
Various Speakers Briefly Share their Role in the Child Welfare System

  • No Handouts

Additional Materials Provided:

About Children Now

Children Now is a nonpartisan, multi-issue research, policy development and advocacy organization dedicated to promoting children’s health and education in California. The organization also leads The Children’s Movement of California, a network of more than 3,000 direct service, parent, civil rights, faith-based and community groups dedicated to improving children’s well-being. Learn more about us at www.childrennow.org.